“Dazzling history makes delicious entertainment”
Toronto Star



Click here for tickets to our spring production.

Written and Directed by Michael Hollingsworth
The History of the Village of the Small Huts, 1914 - 1918

Aviva Armour-Ostroff,
Richard Alan Campbell, Jamie Cavanagh
Mac Fyfe, David Jansen
Jacob James, Linda Prystawska



Merci, merci, milles fois merci.
VideoCabaret gratefully acknowledges support from the following
individuals and organizations ...


Bruce & Elda Ratford, The McLean Foundation,
The Westaway Charitable Foundation
Margie Zeidler, J.Hans Kluge,
Cathy & Barry Joslin, John McKellar, Stephen Smith, Mark & Bettie Tullis, Avie Bennett
The Cameron House, Walter & Victoria Prystawski,
Ann Marie & Paul Ferraro, Jane & Eb Zeidler

David Ackerman, Miriam Adams, Gordon & Kathleen Agar, James Aldridge & Vinetta Strombergs,
Robert Allsopp & Catherine Nasmith
, Owen Anderson, Paul Bennett, Tony Benettar, Bob Bernecky,
Anne & Bob Bower, Doug & Grace Bradley, Stephen Bush, John Butler
Ken Cameron, Ruth Cameron, Derrick Chua, Michael Cooper, Brian Dawson, M. Crook,
E&R Diesenhaus, Elsie Dollekamp, Lisa Douglas, John Doyle, Anne Farquharson, Sian Ferguson,
Barbara Fingerote, Michele Fisher, Mary Finlay, David Fox, Michael Frater
Gary Genosko, John Gilbert, Mallory Gilbert, Marian Gibson, Marny Gibson, Della Golland,
William C. Graham, Carmen Grant, Barbara Haber, Beverly Harris, Kathryn Heller-McRoberts,
Marni Jackson, Walda Janson, Marilyn Job, Matthew Jocelyn,
Ted Johns, Jon Kaplan, Karen & Allan Kazmer,
William R. Kennedy, Pia Kleber, Robert Konduros, Mary Koutsoubos
Paul Kolycius, DD Kugler, Laurence J. Lewis, Greg Lichti, Steven Lico,
Diana Macpherson & Jeffrey D'Hondt, Ron & Pam Mazza, Karen McMillan, Daniel David Moses,
Noel Mowat, Christian Mueller, Yvette Nolan, Neil Orford, Stephen Otto, Teresa Przybylski
Gyllian Raby & Nigel Scott, Ceta Ramkhalawansingh, Georgina Ratcliffe, Norman Reynolds,
Tim Rivers, Paul Renton, Lillian Roth, John Sharpe, Rob Shelton, Rebecca Singh, Sandy Stagg,
Julia P. Stavreff, Jonathon B. Still, Ann Stuart, Barbara Tangney, Richard Teminski, Marianne Teminski,
Anna Teper, Lisa Steele & Kim Tomczak, Nick Tracey,
Brad Stephenson, Eloise Thurier, Robert Wallace,
Mary Wentz, Mary Williamson, Stanley Witkin, Barbara Yip, Morden Yolles


Canada's History Plays

The History of the Village of the Small Huts

The achievement of playwright Michael Hollingsworth MH in Canoe
and his celebrated ensemble of actors and designers is without precedent. Since 1985 they have created more than twenty plays whose stories arc over centuries of time, dramatising our history from Chief Donnacona and Jacques Cartier to Prime Minister Mulroney and President George Bush.

Internationally-renowned designers Astrid Janson and Shadowland use the most economical materials to produce spectacular effects of costume and light, enabling seven superb actors to portray dozens of characters who embody an era, who conjure the drama of the debates and compromises that forge a nation.

The Great War, 2010

VideoCabaret’s work is recognized by dozens of Dora Awards and scores of Nominations. In 2011, the Silver Ticket Award for outstanding contribution to the Canadian Theatre was given to Michael Hollingsworth by previous honourees. Last season’s The War of 1812 won Dora Awards for Acting Ensemble, Direction and Costume Design, and also earned nominations in the categories of Lighting, Sound and Production.



“Anyone who can make Canadian history this witty and amusing deserves a medal --
the Order of Canada perhaps?”

- Toronto Star

“VideoCabaret put the ‘story’ back into history, and the result is hilarious and irresistible.”
- CBC Radio

“VideoCabaret is a theatrical treasure.”
- Globe & Mail

Red River Rebellion, 2005The War of 1812, 2012The Life and Times of Mackenzie King, 2011